Impressive season opener for the F4 Spanish Championship in Portimao

2022 F4 Spanish Championship MP motorsport

The 2022 F4 Spanish Championship season could not have started in a better way in Portimao, with great races in which battles on track were the protagonists with up to three different winners.

The first driver to top of the podium this season was Australian gun Hugh Barter (Campos Racing), who took the 25 points from the first long race of the weekend joined by Tasanapol Inthrapuvasak and Tymoteusz Kucharczyk, both from MP Motorsport.

Campos Racing shows winning form in F4 Spain opener

Sunday awaited with two more races on Portuguese soil. Inthrapuvasak took the second long race win starting from Pole with Filip Jenic (Campos Racing) and Tymoteusz Kurcharczyk on the podium while Nikola Tsolov (Campos Racing) was the winner of the short race.

The Bulgarian completed a great event after starting from P1 in two races and took the three Fastest Laps enjoying last podium of the weekend alongside Kucharczyk and Moroccan driver Suleiman Zanfari (MP Motorsport), who finished in overall top-3 for the first time in F4.

It is also worth mentioning the first point scored by Daniel Nogales in F4 with Teo Martín Motorsport or the first points scored by Monlau Motorsport in its F4 debut thanks to Robert de Haan.

Taking all these results into account, Tasanapol Inthrapuvasak is the new leader (51 points), followed by Hugh Barter (45 points) and Tymoteusz Kucharczyk (42 points), who leaves Portimao as the only driver to finish on the podium in all 3 races this weekend and as Rookie leader.

On the other hand MP Motorsport starts Teams title defense on top with 91 points ahead of Campos Racing (71).

Next round of the F4 Spanish Championship will be held at Circuito de Jerez-Ángel Nieto the weekend of May 28-29.

images © f4spain