Thirteen top drivers will compete in the FIA ETCR 2022 season

2022 FIA ETCR eTouring Car World Cup

Thirteen top class drivers will compete for the inaugural FIA ETCR eTouring Car World Cup following confirmation of last week’s final entries ahead of the season entry deadline.

The three manufacturers of the world’s first all-electric touring car series in its first iteration as PURE ETCR will all return, with CUPRA EKS, Hyundai Motorsport N and Romeo Ferraris, all with a lineup of both familiar faces and new stars.

Nicky Catsburg in Hyundai Veloster N ETCR to FIA ​​ETCR – eTouring Car World Cup.

The 2021 title winners CUPRA Racing has partnered with the highly successful EKS team, owned by Mattias Ekström, with the Swede eager to win again in 2022, with the team now racing as CUPRA EKS with the CUPRA e-Racer.

2022 FIA ETCR eTouring Car World Cup

In addition to two-time DTM and rallycross champion, multi-discipline star Ekström, touring car fan and 24 Hours of Le Mans class winner Jordi Gené returns and is joined by series debutants, Daytona 24 Hour 2022 winner, living in New Zealand, British-born Swede Tom Blomqvist and French DTM podium finisher, Adrien Tambay.

For Hyundai Motorsport. five drivers, including touring car heavyweight Jean-Karl Vernay, will race in the Hyundai Veloster N ETCR. Le Mans-winning Frenchman Vernay finished second in 2021 and will be joined by Spaniard Mikel Azcona, who finished just one point behind him and transfers from CUPRA.

2019 Hungarian FIA World Touring Car Cup winner Norbert Michelisz joins Vernay and Azcona as the final full-time entrants for the brand in the series, while Dutch WTCC and WTCR race winner Nicky Catsburg will share the final entry with Italian WTCR race winner Kevin Ceccon.

Romeo Ferraris also retains talent and further bolsters its lineup with Italian single-seater and electric pioneer Luca Filippi, along with Maxime Martin, Bruno Spengler and Giovanni Venturini. Belgian Maxime has Le Mans and DTM victories on his resume, while Canadian Spengler is the 2012 DTM Champion. Italian Venturini won the 2017 International GT Open.

FIA ETCR is the world’s first all-electric touring car series with a world title at stake. Manufacturers compete with the most powerful touring cars ever built; the beasts of up to 500 kW (670 hp) compete against each other on a combination of iconic racetracks and street courses through countless short, sharp Battle races for the ultimate prize.

With sustainability at the heart of the series, the excitement on the track is coupled with a commitment to provide a global platform for the world’s largest automakers to showcase their latest electric cars in the intensive world of motorsport, while also show that electric mobility can be fun, fast and sexy.

This weekend the track action kicks off in the streets of Pau with training on Friday; Qualifying and quarter-finals on Saturday; then the semifinals for the DHL Super Finals on Sunday.

FIA ETCR eTouring Car World Cup Entry List 2022

1 Mattias Ekstrom CUPRA EKS CUPRA eRacer
5 Norbert Michelisz Hyundai Motorsport N Hyundai Veloster N ETCR
7 Bruno Spengler Romeo Ferraris Giulia ETCR
10 Tom Blomqvist CUPRA EKS CUPRA eRacer
21 Giovanni Venturini Romeo Ferraris Giulia ETCRO
25 Luca Filippi Romeo Ferraris Giulia ETCR
27 Adrien Tambay CUPRA EKS CUPRA eRacer
28 Jordi Gene CUPRA EKS CUPRA eRacer
31 Kevin Ceccon Hyundai Motorsport N Hyundai Veloster N ETCR *
36 Maxime Martin Romeo Ferraris Giulia ETCR
69 Jean Karl Vernay Hyundai Motorsport N Hyundai Veloster N ETCR
88 Nicky Catsburg Hyundai Motorsport N Hyundai Veloster N ETCR *
96 Mikel Azcona Hyundai Motorsport N Hyundai Veloster N ETCR

Drivers 31 and 88 will share an entry throughout the season and compete in various events. The exact program is confirmed by the entry list of each individual round.